Hurston/Wright Foundation | A World of Black Writers
A World of Black Writers
Black writers, writing workshops, literary awards, college competion, legacy awards
home,page,page-id-19843,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-theme-ver-1.7.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.3.5,vc_responsive


The Hurston/Wright Foundation provides multiple workshops and classes to serve emerging and midcareer writers in the genres of fiction, nonfiction and poetry. Adult writers receive intensive instruction and feedback from acclaimed authors, teachers and publishing experts in these craft-focused seminars.

2018 Poetry Workshop by Kea Taylor

2018 Writers Week

In programs
  • The Hurston/Wright Foundation seeks an Executive Director with a passion for literature!

        Named for literary geniuses Zora Neale Hurston and Richard Wright, the Hurston/Wright Foundation discovers, mentors, and honors Black writers. Through writing workshops, public readings and award competitions, the foundation encourages new and established voices, connects writers and readers, and celebrates artistic excellence. This is an exciting......

  • 2018 Legacy Award Winners Announced

    The Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Foundation announced the winners and finalists of the 2018 Legacy Awards and paid tribute to two pioneers in the Black literary community: Poet and playwright Ntozake Shange, best known for For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/When the Rainbow Is......

OCTOBER 19, 2018

The Hurston/Wright Foundation’s annual Legacy Awards Ceremony honors the best in Black literature in the United States and around the globe. The gala, held in Washington, D.C., is one of the brightest nights in the literary community. The first Legacy Awards ceremony was held in 2002 to celebrate the trailblazers who paved a way for generations of Black writers and to honor excellence in literature by Black writers. The program includes merit awards determined by the Board of Directors, a juried competition for debut fiction, fiction, nonfiction and poetry, and recognition of college writers. Stars of the literary community also pay tribute to the foundation’s namesakes, Zora Neale Hurston and Richard Wright.